Picasa Tip: “Cancel unfinished operations?”

Question:  “I am new at Picasa 3. I have viewed your tutorials on the Basic editing.  I spent several hours adjusting my pictures on the computer.  This included cropping, light etc.  As advised in the tutorial, I would check apply and go back to library without saving.  When I went to close out of Picasa, I got the following message, “Closing Picasa will cancel unfinished operations. Do you really want to close? Yes or No”.

Now I am afraid of closing and losing the work I did.  What do I do – close and don’t worry – go back and save each one individually?  Help?  “

Answer:  The message you’re getting has nothing to do with the edits to individual photos.  It’s referring to other processes that you began and didn’t close … like importing photos from your camera, … or making a collage.

Look at the top part of your screen and see if you see multiple tabs:

clip_image002

Usually, when you complete an import, or a collage – these tabs close, and we never even notice they appeared in the first place.  When they get left over like this … just click on the tab to be sure there is nothing there that you do need to finish … then you can close the tab by clicking on the little x at the right side of it.

In any case, you can close Picasa without any worries about losing the work done on your photos.

This tip brought to you by Geeks on Tour

Geeks on Tour is a membership website with hundreds of Tutorial Videos on topics of interest to travelers, such as managing digital photos with Picasa, Route-Planning with Streets and Trips, and sharing your travels with a website using Blogger or with friends on Facebook. You can subscribe to our free e-newsletters, or become a paid member and be able to view all of the videos in the Learning Library.

Members may want to view the following tutorial videos.  Not a member?  Join now.

Advertisements

Published by

geeksontour

Chris is a teacher. Although she comes as close to an expert as possible in many areas of computer usage, she can still remember what it's like not to know these things! That means she can communicate with students in a way that teaches and doesn't demean. She really enjoys teaching one-on-one and for groups of people, but she reaches a worldwide audience with her tutorial videos on the GeeksOnTour.com website. She currently travels the country in an RV with her husband, Jim. As Geeks on Tour, they present computer seminars at RV rallies, computer clubs, and Senior Centers all over the US.

5 thoughts on “Picasa Tip: “Cancel unfinished operations?””

  1. I too have a problem with organizing photos in picasa. I have no problem either dragging photos or exporting to a file. The problem is what do you do to get rid of the photo or photos that are still left in file A when you have moved a copy to file B. I have tried to remove the original picture from file A by hitting the delete button , but that sends it into cyberspace & as far as I know can not be retrieved

    Like

  2. Hi – Was importing photos, the ‘exclude duplicates’ box was ticked, and chose ‘delete all from the camera after import’, but am new to Picassa and clicked import all. Apparently this overrides the ‘exclude duplicates’ choice, because I immediately saw that photos already downloaded in another folder (the duplicates) were being downloaded to the new folder. Thinking to start again, making sure that ‘exclude duplicates’ was working, I chose cancel operations, remembering that the photos are deleted from the camera AFTER the importing operation. BUT – to my surprise, ALL photos were gone from the camera! There were 900 or so photos – very strange that they were all so quickly erased…. I accepted that the new ones were lost (hurts less because don’t really remember what was there) – but this seems like something that should be explained or corrected? Maybe I’ll figure out what happened – or maybe someone can explain it to me. I am posting it here because I get the same message now, when I go to close Picassa – about unfinished operations – which gave me the hope that the photos lost might still be accessible somehow, that maybe someway i could continue the operation. But I think not, since the ‘Import’ tab shows zero photos….

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s